11808 N. 64th Street Scottsdale, AZ 85254   MAP
Phone: 480-484-3200 | Fax: 480-484-3201
Office Hours: 8:00am - 3:30pm | School Hours: 8:45am - 3:15pm
Veronica Leiper, Principal | Amy Hardy, Assistant Principal

facebook-icon-ribbon.png   twitter-icon-ribbon.png

Sequoya Celebrations




SUSD Foundation Quest for the Best Gala
The 3rd annual SUSD Quest for the Best Gala was held on Saturday, September 12, 2015 at the Scottsdale Resort and Conference Center.  The event was designed to honor alumni from SUSD schools who have excelled in their respective fields.  Arizona House Representative and former Governing Board Member, Dr. Eric Meyer and U.S. Congressman David Schweikert were honored at the event.  Additionally, the event recognized two administrators, teachers and students who have demonstrated a commitment to health sciences and servant leadership.  This year the Foundation recognized the following SUSD stakeholders:

  • Servant Leadership:  Veronica Leiper (Sequoya Elementary - Chaparral Learning Community)

2015-16 District Spelling Bee Winner and 5 Runner Ups
Twenty-five elementary and middle school students from across the District competed for the title of District Champion. Family members gathered at Arcadia High School to cheer on the students. The top six competitors from the Bee move on to the Region II Spelling Bee. Congratulations to Noah Hatton, a 5th grade student at Sequoya Elementary School, who took home the first place trophy in Scottsdale Unified School District's Spelling Bee. 


Sequoya Earns A+ School of Excellence™ Award from AEF
In 2012 Sequoya Elementary School once again earned the A+ School of Excellence™ Award from the Arizona Education Foundation (AEF).

“We are extremely proud of the Laguna and Sequoya communities for earning the prestigious A+ School of Excellence™ designation. Their commitment to student success shines through every day and this recognition honors the great work they are doing,” said Superintendent Dr. David J. Peterson

 NCEA-Logo.png SUSD Schools Honored by NCEA Higher Performing Schools
The following schools are included on the 2013 The National Center for Educational Achievement (NCEA) Higher Performing School list. They are Pima Elementary, Hopi Elementary, Hohokam Traditional, Cherokee Elementary, Laguna Elementary, Sequoya Elementary and Anasazi Elementary. NCEA identifies Higher Performing Schools based on one or both of two measures: 1) Consistent improvement in student achievement from previous years (growth) and/or 2) An above-predicted percentage of continuously enrolled students scoring at the Exceeds level on the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards.